Sports Related Books

Top 5 Sport RelatedBooks!

OMG guys its such an exciting time!! For those of you that don’t live in Africa and didn’t know: Zambia (my home sweet home!) hosted this year’s U20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) and last night were the finals and we actually won!!! If you’re from Senegal, sorry your team couldn’t handle our teams incredible prowess, agility and unattainable glory (#I’mJustSayin’) (lol) Anyway in honor of all the crazy fun soccer times, I wanted to spread the love (because nothing brings people together like sports) by listing some of my favorite books that involve some kind of sport.

*Side note: On my side of the world, soccer is called football not that crazy sport the Americans love so much. I mean they just came in and hijacked the word because clearly football is called football because you play it with your feet otherwise I must be living in some freaky Westworld, people being like; “Do you question the nature of your existence?”
(whut?)



1. The Deal by Elle Kennedy

The Deal is such a guilty pleasure but I must admit, its a really fun read. Don’t be turned off by the cover, it’s not an intensely sexual book. I mean there are sex scenes but they’re not crazy cringe worth scenes. 

side-note: I know it said YA in the title of this post and everyone insists NA is a genre on its own so this book has been placed firmly in the NA category.

24920901She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

2. Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

I feel like Abbi Glines is such an under-hyped author. I mean has anyone read the Existence Trilogy? Its one of my all time favorite paranormal romance series but so few people talk about it. *sigh* Anyway Until Friday Night was a surprisingly emotional book, I did not expect to cry at all why reading it but Abbi Glines did such a fantastic job with this one!

22522202To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, way-too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god who led Lawton High to the state championships. But while West may be Big Man on Campus on the outside, on the inside he’s battling the grief that comes with watching his father slowly die of cancer.

Two years ago, Maggie Carleton’s life fell apart when her father murdered her mother. And after she told the police what happened, she stopped speaking and hasn’t spoken since. Even the move to Lawton, Alabama, couldn’t draw Maggie back out. So she stayed quiet, keeping her sorrow and her fractured heart hidden away.

As West’s pain becomes too much to handle, he knows he needs to talk to someone about his father—so in the dark shadows of a post-game party, he opens up to the one girl who he knows won’t tell anyone else.

West expected that talking about his dad would bring some relief, or at least a flood of emotions he couldn’t control. But he never expected the quiet new girl to reply, to reveal a pain even deeper than his own—or for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go…

3. Winger by Andrew Smith

Y’all know I love this book, I wrote an entire post about how much I loved this book. I don’t think I need to say much on this one because its a pretty popular book.

11861815Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids in the Pacific Northwest. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.

With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.

Filled with hand-drawn info-graphics and illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking.

4. Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

25528801Veronica Mars meets William Shakespeare in E.K. Johnston’s latest brave and unforgettable heroine.

Hermione Winters is captain of her cheerleading team, and in tiny Palermo Heights, this doesn’t mean what you think it means. At PHHS, the cheerleaders don’t cheer for the sports teams; they are the sports team—the pride and joy of a tiny town. The team’s summer training camp is Hermione’s last and marks the beginning of the end of…she’s not sure what. She does know this season could make her a legend. But during a camp party, someone slips something in her drink. And it all goes black.

In every class, there’s a star cheerleader and a pariah pregnant girl. They’re never supposed to be the same person. Hermione struggles to regain the control she’s always had and faces a wrenching decision about how to move on. The assault wasn’t the beginning of Hermione Winter’s story and she’s not going to let it be the end. She won’t be anyone’s cautionary tale.

5. Girl Against the Universe by by Paula Stokes

Paula Stokes is another author I feel deserves more hype, had anybody read Liars Inc? It’s such an amazing YA thriller by this amazing author. I won’t say much about this book because its also pretty well loved in the book community. If you haven’t read the book check out the synopsis below.

22297294From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about a girl coping with PTSD and the boy who wants to help her move on from the past. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Sixteen-year-old Maguire knows the universe is against her. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when she’s around. Like that time the roller coaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time the house next door caught on fire. Or the time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash–and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch.

Despite what her therapist tells her, Maguire thinks it’s best to hide out in her room, far away from anyone she might accidentally hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star who wants to help her break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for him is to stay away, but it turns out staying away might be harder than she thought.


giphy

FIND ME ON:

TWITTER || GOODREADS || FACEBOOK || INSTAGRAM

may

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Sports Related Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s