Book Review: The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine

23299513.jpg

The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine

My Rating: 3 of 5 stars

Expected Publication: 16th February 2016

Summary:

A dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, from C. J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series. Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder.

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic of his own—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman—and bring her Lorelai’s heart.

But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn’t going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.

Review:

I recently got the opportunity to read this book (the eARC version) before it’s released and I’m very excited to share my thoughts with you guys. Lemme just start by saying this books’ beautiful cover was what drew me to it in the first place.

This book (a loosely based retelling of the Snow White) follows Lorelai and her journey to reclaim her throne from the wicked queen Irina. I’m giving this book 3 out of 5 stars because though the story was interesting it was a little slowly paced (in my opinion). The slow pacing is made up for in the ending, which is totally action packed.

Another thing I did not like was the world building, I would have liked things to have been a little bit more explained because I feel like I was just thrust into this world full of magic, ogers, dragons and fairies(?). If you’ve read the book you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Anyway, aside from all that I loved Lorelai as a character she was definitely bad-ass with her magical powers and all, another character I loved too was Sasha (even though she was a bird.). What I’m trying to say is, this book had some cool characters and if the world building was better it could have been an amazing book.

So overall, okay book and I recommend it if you’re into fairytale retelling.

Happy Reading.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s